It Was All A Hoax

6 07 2010

BTTF

The year is 2010… It is the 25th anniversary of the epic movie, Back To The Future… It cost $19 million to make. It grossed like $381 million dollars. Adjusted for inflation, it’s the 59th highest grossing movie EVER! It was originally cast w/ Eric Stoltz as Marty (wtf?!) Remember in the second movie when Doc Brown and Marty McFly were heading to the future? What date did he set it to? Fuck if I know, I said the same thing you just did.  Imagine my surprise today when I see this picture, talking about how Doc Brown traveled forward to this particular day from 1985:

BTTF July 5

That’s pretty awesome huh? Well then I start getting geeked about the movie and hit up google to see if anyone is doing anything surrounding not only the 25th anniversary of the movie, but the fact that this is the actual day they traveled to. I see something about a hoax, and even though my heart was heavy lol, I continued to read on about it.  When I was done, I truly saw the power of the internet and the social media applications that make it their bitch. Turns out Total Film started this hoax, but not really on purpose. You can read the full explanation here, but I’ll spare you and break down the key points:

– It was an office convo about BTTF, then someone thought that date was July 5th, so yesterday, Total Film tweeted that July 5th was indeed the day the time travelers went to.

– Total Films’ 30k followers started RTing the message and TF decided to photoshop the image of the dashboard to look like this, with a caption underneath that said, “We got it wrong. Apparently 5th July 2010 isn’t mentioned in Back To The Future. So we went back and changed it…” and then the internet simply exploded

-Total Film meant it as an apology for posting the wrong date, but “The image ended up being used as proof that 5th July 2010 is mentioned in the movie, not proof that we were wrong,” says TF. The story gets picked up by multiple online news outlets, it’s the most searched Google topic in 24 hours, and was a worldwide Twitter trending topic.

-Somebody posted the same picture, photoshopped AGAIN that said it was July 6th, which is when I saw it:

BTTF July 6

So I guess today is Future Day…. but the REAL future day is in 2015 😦 I fucking LOVE that movie

For your enjoyment, here’s a couple of BTTF II themed videos I ran across that should put a smile on your face… Pretty much the best parts of the movie: the Nike’s and the hoverboard… Enjoy!

Actions

Information

One response

6 07 2010
becky

I’m still trying to accumalate 1.21 gigawatts

Leave a Reply

