Key West Trip Recap

11 01 2010

*disclaimer* The following names in this story have been changed to protect the innocent *disclaimer*

So a buddy of mine hits me up and tells me that he has rented a house in the Florida Keys (Sugarloaf) and he’s got it open for a couple of weeks in January, do I wanna go?  Of course i’m pumped about the idea as lately I have had the travel bug and feel compelled to get out of the house as much as possible.  So I begin to make travel arrangements.  Obviously if you’re going to go on vacation, you should probably bring some girls with you.  You never know how the local scene is going to pan out, so you have to bring just a pinch of sand to the beach.  Here’s the setup… 1,800 sq/ft house with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a car, 2 jet skis, a boat, diving gear, fishing gear, kayaks, wakeboards, etc etc etc.  Sounds pretty dope right?
I ask a few people who I know like to travel to roll down there with me.  I say i’m going Jan 4-8th and it’s a few weeks out so there’s plenty of time to find a travel partner right? Wrong.  There’s never enough time to find a travel partner, because no matter what they will never wind up going with you.   My buddy Aaron comes through though and he says he’ll actually be in Miami so he wouldn’t mind the 3 1/2 hr drive down to party with us.  So him, my buddy who’s house it is (Brock), and I are under the impression that we’ll be having some good company.  Boy were we in for a wild week!!

It’s now the day before I leave and I’m feeling pretty good about the trip.  My friend Nicole is going to go with me and we have it all figured out.  We’ll fly into Ft. Lauderdale, rent a car, drive to the keys and party all week.  I txt Nicole early Sunday and get no response.  No biggie, I thought, she might be sleeping or running errands, I’ll just try her later.  Later comes and still no response.  Maybe she was busy with trip preparations and crashed early.  Monday morning comes and i’m up at 6:45 to go over my final checklist and catch my flight at 9:45.  I call Nicole, no response.  Now, I’m starting to get a little worried because I need her to show up to pick up the rental car because I don’t have a drivers license (super long story that I’ll tell you if you REALLY wanna know).  If she can’t do it, I’ll be stranded 4 hours away from my destination.

So I get to the airport and have a couple of minutes to process my situation.  Almost a week prior (2 days after Christmas mind you), I was fired from my job at Liquid, so I almost didn’t even wanna go to the Keys because I was thinking about my cash flow in the immediate term, but I figured hell Nicole is going and I can’t ditch her, ya know?  Sitting on the plane, waiting to take off, I try Nicole again.  This time I get a hit and she txts me and says that she was in a car accident the day before and will not be joining me (cue extreme close up of sad face and play that womp womp womp womp wommmmmppppp sound).  I find out that my ride to the keys will not be making the trip about 2 minutes before I take off on a 2 hr flight w/ no way to get south.

Immediately I call Brock down in FL and he has some more great news for me.  “Hey man, I’m just getting on a boat now and I won’t be back till 5pm.  I can come get you, but it won’t be able to leave until then”  So for me that means I would be staying at the airport until at least 11pm because by the time he gets off the boat, takes care of the fish, cleans up and drives the 4 hrs to come get me, that’s about when I’d be seeing him.  Considering I was arriving in Ft. Lauderdale at 12pm, this was totally unacceptable.  So I did what any quick thinking, Macgyver-like guy would do.  I got on Facebook and broadcasted to the world that I’d be stranded in Ft. Lauderdale and was looking for some company…… To be continued

Up Up and AWAY!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

