Day 1 LA Recap – March 28th 2009

9 04 2009
Los Angeles

Los Angeles

It’s been a while since I’ve posted on here…. I recently took a trip to LA for vacation/job hunting and Dallas for my cousin’s wedding.  I figure I’ll recap my trip here and post a few pics.  You can also find pics on my myspace page or my facbook page.  Here we go.

So I’ve been thinking about moving to LA for a long time.  There were times when I thought it was right around the corner, but something in Cleveland would keep me here.  Then Scott Wolstein approached me about something in the Flats and I figured I would stick it out.  Then the credit crisis has taken over the world.  So now I’m back on the fence about that, and then Claddagh calls… So I don’t know what’s going on, but I figured I would go to LA to see some old friends, make some new ones, and try to find a place to live, should I go that route.

There’s a bunch of places I wanted to see when I went there.  Pinks Hot Dogs, El Tepeyac, Philippe’s, and Orochon Ramen.  All these places I saw on ‘Man v Food‘ on the Travel Channel, lol.  I also wanted to see the Hollywood sign, walk down Hollywood blvd, and get my picture taken by Mark the Cobrasnake.  Let’s see what all I got to see and do.

So let’s start with Saturday.  Woke up feeling pretty excited about my trip.  I have a bunch of friends in LA and I’m trying to figure out how I’m gonna see everybody.  I stayed with my friend Kat in West Hollywood (or WeHo if you’re in the know, lol) and I think I fell in love with her neighborhood.  She lives between Sunset and Hollywood, and is pretty centrally located to party spots, places to eat, etc etc.  From the moment I touch down, I had to get used to the increased number of people, cars, bums, asians, and hispanics.  Obviously I have love for all peoples, but if you’re from Cleveland, you can be lulled into thinking that the only people that exist are blacks and whites (exaggeration).  It was good to see some color and fall into that whole ‘melting pot’ mentality.

The weather was cool and breezy, just like me.  One of my friends, DJ Quickie Mart (aside from being the dj for the Knux), has a weekly gig at AC Supper Club in Venice so Kat and I decided to check it out.  The place was nice… leather all over the walls (weird), and seemed like a club one might have in Cleveland.  Once again I have to reiterate the fact that in cities like LA, everyone parties with everyone.  It’s not like here where it’s black, white, hispanic, asian, euro, etc clubs or nights.  It’s everybody, everywhere which is the shit btw.

Oh yeah, let me take a time out and commentate on the whole medical marijuana thing.  Totally should be legal.  Everybody is smoking pot anyways.  Kat has one of those cards and you can roll into one of the ba-jillions of dispensaries, show your card, make your selections, and puff puff pass.

So after AC, and a couple bowls (not cereal), we were on our way back to Weho.  Stopped and ate at Del Taco.  It’s one of a couple Taco Bell Competitors.  Shells are pretty thin, but the food was really good.  A lot less greasy than TB.  Called it a night kinda early.  I was pretty beat and wanted to get a leg up on the week.  No pictures cause the memory stick was full, but tomorrow will have better updates.  It gets wayyyyy better.

Actually ran across another person’s take on LA…. pretty funny.  To sum it up… LA does not give a fuck about you.  It’s a city made entirely of concrete and nothing you do matters.  You are the least important person in the room.  That said, do whatever the hell you want, nobody gives a shit.  That’s my interpretation and I think it’s pretty much right on.  Check it out here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 04 2009
Alexa

this is great! i have a legal highs community that would love to see this.

9 04 2009
Nikki Milan

haha…Kush stores! Yeah, my buddy has one of those cards out there. It’s weird, he has it for “depression”. Can you imagine that in Cleveland???

Leave a Reply

